DG-1001Club_neo_im_Landeanflug

The Smart Way Home

For many years, the DG1001 has been by far the most versatile aircraft on the double-seater market. Whether in training, on the track, or in aerobatics – the DG1001 family has a solution for every purpose. After the positive experiences in the LS8e neo, we wanted to be able to use the innovative FES propulsion system in the DG1001 as well. Together with a new outer wing and many  improvements in detail, the DG1001e neo was born.

FES System

The FES system (“Front Electric Sustainer”) was developed by the company LZ Design from Slovenia. It allows the DG1001e neo a climb rate of up to 1.5m/s and a range of about 100km (20m).

Unlike conventional sustainer systems, you ideally don’t fly in sawtooth flight with the FES propulsion system . Instead, you only use as much power as you need depending on the situation, as the power can be adjusted quickly and easily on the power controller.

 

The FES control unit “FCU” controls the whole system and informs the pilot about battery level, speed, power and other important parameters. To start the motor, simply activate the FES main switch and turn the speed control potentiometer.

 

The batteries weigh 20kg each and allow a motor running time of about 1h in straight flight. If required, the pilot has a climb rate of up to 1.5m/s available (depending on the battery charge level). The batteries are charged within a few hours using the chargers included in the scope of delivery. Fast charging solutions are also available on demand.

 

The electric motor is virtually maintenance-free and has no service life limit. With full batteries, it has an output of approx. 30kW. The folding propeller is specially adapted to the shape of the DG1001e neo fuselage to influence the airflow as little as possible. The propeller with spinner and folding mechanism must be checked every 50 hours.

Standard Equipment

The DG-1001e neo is offered with the following standard equipment:

  • FES System / LZ Design
  • 2-blade folding propeller
  • 1 set of LiPo batteries GEN3
  • FES control unit on both seats
  • 2x battery charger
  • discharge cable for FES batteries
  • connecting cable for FES batteries
  • 2x stainless steel boxes for battery transportation

 

  • new 20m outer wing with neo-winglets
  • 790kg MTOW
  • finish in T-35 UP pregelat
  • wings in carbon fibre construction
  • carbon fibre wings
  • wing parting
  • 160L water ballast system incl. fin tank
  • double storeyed air-brakes
  • large wheels on wing-tips
  • automatics hook-ups on all control surfaces
  • 3D tubulators and sealing of all control surfaces
  • trim weight box in vertical stabilizer
  • tail wheel
  • nose and CG hook
  • Piggott-Hook incl. parking brake
  • VHF-antenna 
  • Prandtl-M-Adapter (ESA-Systems)
  • registration number (vinyl)
  • safety cockpit
  • prepared for installation of oxygen
  • 4-point schroth hernesses
  • energy absorbing seat cushions
  • head rests
  • canopy cover (cotton)
  • maidenflight done, ready for pick up at DG Flugzeugbau
Options

Some of the most important options available for DG1001e neo

  • canopy warning
  • landing gear warning
  • 17,2m aerobatic wingtips
  • 18m neo winglets
  • add. backrest in front cockpit for small pilots
  • add. map pocket in rear cockpit
  • tail dolly
  • set of trimm weights including wooden transport box
  • tie-down points on wings
  • Dolba BD12 FLARM antenna in vertical stabilizer
  • transponder preparation

More options available on demand.

We can send you an individual offer incl. avionics and trailer. Please contact our sales department for more details.

 

Press / Media

No Media available so far

Technical Details
wingspan m 17,2 18 20
wing area 16,3 16,72 17,53
aspect ratio / 18,15 19,38 22,82
length m 8,57 8,57 8,57
height m 1,8 1,8 1,8
max. speed km/h 270 270 270
water ballast in wings l 160 160 160
MTOW kg 750 750 790
MTOW for aerobatics CAT. A kg 630

 

FES System    
motor / brushless motor / LZ Design
power kW ca. 30
propeller / 2-blades foldable propeller
battery (inside fuselage) / LZ Design GEN3 (16S / LiPo / 8,9kWh)

 

Ingenious Combination

After the success of the LS8e neo with its simple and ingenious FES propulsion system, we started thinking about how to integrate this propulsion concept into the DG1001. At the same time we wanted to use our latest knowledge in the field of winglets and outer wings to further improve the flight characteristics.  Together with LZ Design from Slovenia we developed the DG1001e neo. The world’s first double-seater with FES in series production.

Read more

Use Of The FES

The FES can be activated and deactivated in a very short time from the front as well as from the back seat. Stepless power control makes it possible to adjust the power of the system depending on the situation.

At low altitude, you first climb with increased power and a solid climb towards the next upwind. At a safe altitude, you reduce power and continue flying with about 8 kW. As soon as you have found a new climb, the FES can be switched off within a few seconds. This is the most efficient way to use the energy.

Usually, you always get home or at least reach an airfield. Outlandings belong to the past.

Keep it Simple

The simple and brilliant functional principle which is proven in the rc-model sector since decades was successfully adapted on sailplanes by LZ Design. Intuitive controls, simple handling and a low level of maintenance make this system the first choice among all sustainer systems.

Read more

To activate the system you simply need to turn on the FES main switch and adjust the rpm needed on the FCU’s power-potentiometer. Instantly the electric motor will start to turn and allows up to 1.5m/s climb rate. The propeller blades remain open due to centrifugal force.

To switch-off the propulsion system you set motor power back to zero. The FCU will automatically stop the motor and align its propeller. Airstream pushes back the blades to the fuselage and by turning-off the FES main switch the system is deactived.

DG-Finish

Enjoy The neo Feeling

The new outer wing with neo winglet has been designed with new profiles from the separation point onwards. It gives more feedback in thermals and improves handling and climb. The new design fits perfectly to the silhouette of the DG-1001 and underlines the sporty look. Experience the neo feeling with a wingspan of 20m!

Flexible Like No Other

The DG1001e neo was developed with a focus on cross-country flying. Therefore, the 20m neo outer wings are part of the serial standard. But the aircraft can also be used for aerobatics and training.

Read more

In order to maintain versatility of the DG1001e neo, especially in the club, the aircraft with 17.2m ends can still be used for aerobatics. For this, only the FES batteries have to be removed to comply with the weight limits of the structure.

Pilot Training with FES?

Many clubs are struggling with declining student and member numbers. To counteract this development, fast learning success is important. The faster the student progresses, the greater the likelihood that he or she will complete the training and remain with the club. This is exactly where the DG1001e neo comes in.

Read more

Not every airfield has good thermal conditions. Often many take-offs are necessary to teach the important basics, especially at the beginning of the training.

With the DG1001e neo you have the possibility to make extended training flights out of short pattern flights and to impart the practical knowledge effectively. If you only use the FES for a short time during each take-off, you will safely reach a thermal and can effectively perform the exercises. Even if there are no thermals on a weak day, you can maintain altitude and exercise manoeuvres.

The result is an increased learning success, increased enjoyment of the training and a reduction in the training time.

Those who prefer a low entry can also order the DG1001e neo with a low, mechanically operated, retractable landing gear.

Flying Without Limits!

The DG1001 can be equipped with a handicap system in its version with fixed or electrically operated landing gear. The lever on the left side of the cockpit, which is otherwise used for the manual retractable undercarriage, is used for rudder control and enables people with handicap to enjoy the beauty of our sport.

Tip: Many organisations and countries support handicap sport.

DG-Finish
\

neo winglets

The neo-winglets especially improve climb and handling at high wing loadings. They also show their advantages in dynamic cruise flight.

\

Landing gear

The large main landing gear with 5" main wheel improves the angle of attack during take-off and increases comfort. In the event of a crash, it absorbs a lot of energy to protect the pilots.

\

Battery box

Both FES batteries are housed in the rear of the fuselage. The cover with a snap-on system allows the batteries to be inserted without tools.

\

Cockpit

The typical DG cockpit envelops the pilot in a sporty ambience. The comfortable seating position in both cockpits allows long flights without fatigue.

DG-1001Club_neo_im_Landeanflug

The Smart Way Home

Die DG1001 ist seit vielen Jahren das mit Abstand vielseitigste Flugzeug auf dem Markt der Doppelsitzer. Egal ob in der Schulung, auf Strecke oder im Kunstflug – Die DG1001 Familie hat für jeden Einsatzzweck eine Lösung parat. Nach den positiven Erfahrungen mit der LS8e neo wollten wir deren innovativen Antrieb unbedingt auch in der DG1001 nutzen können. Zusammen mit einem neuen Außenflügel und vielen Detailverbesserungen entstand die DG1001E neo.

FES

Das FES-System (“Front Electric Sustainer”) wurde von der Firma LZ Design aus Slovenien entwickelt. Es ermöglicht der DG1001E neo eine Steigrate von bis zu 1,5m/s und eine Reichweite ca. 100km (20m).

Anders als herkömmliche Flautenschieber fliegt man mit dem FES Antrieb idealerweise nicht im Sägezahnflug. Stattdessen nutzt man Situationsabhängig nur so viel Energie wie man braucht, da sich die Leistung schnell und einfach am Drehzahlregler einstellen lässt.

Das FES Kontrollgerät “FCU” steuert das ganze System und informiert den Piloten über Batteriestand, Drehzahl, Leistung und andere wichtige Parameter. Um den Antrieb zu starten genügt es den FES Hauptschalter zu aktivieren und den Drehzahlregler zu drehen.

 

Die Batterien wiegen je 20kg und erlauben eine Laufzeit von ca. 1h im Geradeausflug. Bei Bedarf steht dem Pilot eine Steigrate von bis zu 1,5m/s (abhängig vom Ladestand der Batterien) zur Verfügung. Geladen werden die Batterien mit den im Lieferumfang enthaltenen Ladegeräten innerhalb weniger Stunden. Auch Schnellladelösungen sind bei Bedarf erhältlich.

 

Der Elektromotor ist nahezu wartungsfrei und hat keine Lebensdauerbeschränkung. Mit vollen Batterien leistet er ca. 30kW. Der Faltpropeller ist speziell an die Rumpfform der DG1001E neo angepasst um die Luftströmung so wenig wie möglich zu beeinflussen. Alle 50h muss der Propeller mit Spinner und Klappmechanik geprüft werden.

Serienaustattung

Die DG-1001E neo wird mit folgender Serienausstattung angeboten:

  • FES System von LZ Design
  • 2-Blatt Faltpropeller
  • 1 Satz LiPo Batterien GEN3
  • FES Bedieneinheit auf beiden Sitzen
  • 2x Batterie Ladegerät
  • Entladekabel für FES Batterien
  • Verbindungskabel für FES Batterien
  • 2x Edelstahl Box zum Transport der Batterien

 

  • Neuer 20m Außenflügel mit neo-Winglets
  • 790kg MTOW
  • Finish in T-35 UP Vorgelat
  • Flügel in Kohlefaser-Bauweise
  • Flügelteilung
  • Doppelstöckige Bremsklappen
  • 160l Wasserballast System incl. Hecktank
  • Große Flügelräder
  • Automatische Ruderanschlüsse an allen Rudern
  • 3-D-Turbulatoren und Abdichtung aller Ruderflächen
  • Leicht zugängliche Trimm Box integriert im Seitenleitwerk
  • Kugelgelagertes Spornrad
  • elektrisches Einziehfahwerk mit Scheibenbremse
  • Bug- und Schwerpunktkupplung
  • Piggott-Haken mit Feststellbremse
  • VHF-Antenne im Seitenleitwerk
  • Adapter für Prandtl- M- Rohr
  • Kennzeich aus Folie, geklebt
  • Innovatives Sicherheitscockpit
  • 4-Punkt Drehschloss-Gurte
  • Sitzkissen mit Energie absorbierendem Schaum
  • Kopfstützen
  • Hauben Tuch
  • eingeflogen und abholbereit ab Werk Bruchsal
Optionen

Für die DG-1001E neo sind unter anderem folgende Optionen erhältlich:

  • Haubenwarnung
  • Fahrwerkswarnung
  • 17,2m Acro Flügelenden
  • 18m neo Winglets
  • Rückenlehne für vorderes Cockpit
  • Zusätzliche Kartentasche am hinteren Sitz
  • Spornkuller
  • Satz Trimmgewichte
  • Verzurrösen an Tragflügel
  • FLARM Antenne Dolba BD12 in Seitenleitwerk
  • Transpondervorbereitung

Weitere Ausstattungen auf Anfrage.

Gerne bieten wir Ihnen Ihr Flugzeug inkl. Avionik und Anhänger an. kontaktieren Sie hierzu bitte unseren Vertrieb und lassen Sie sich von uns individuell beraten.

 

Presse

Sturmflug mit der DG1001E neo – Bericht von Ernst Willi im Magazin Segelfliegen

Technische Daten
Spannweite m 17,2 18 20
Flügelfläche 16,3 16,72 17,53
Streckung / 18,15 19,38 22,82
Länge m 8,57 8,57 8,57
Höhe m 1,8 1,8 1,8
Höchstgeschwindigkeit km/h 270 270 270
Wasserballast Flügel l 160 160 160
max. Abflugmasse kg 750 750 790
max. Abflugmasse für Kunstflug Kategorie A kg 630

 

Triebwerk    
Motor / Brushless Motor von LZ Design
Leistung kW ca. 30
Propeller / 2-Blatt Faltpropeller
Batterien (in Rumpf untergebracht) / LZ Design GEN3 (16S / LiPo / 8,9kWh)

 

Geniale Kombination

Nach dem Erfolg der LS8e neo mit ihrem einfachen aber dennoch genialen FES-Antrieb haben wir uns Gedanken gemacht, wie man dieses Antriebskonzept in die DG1001 integrieren könnte. Zeitgleich wollten wir unsere neuesten Erkenntnisse im Bereich der Winglets und Außenflügel nutzen um die Flugeigenschaften weiter zu verbessern.  Zusammen mit LZ Design aus Slovenien entstand so die DG1001E neo. Der weltweit erste Doppelsitzer mit FES in Serienproduktion.

Mehr erfahren

Einsatz des FES

Das FES lässt sich in kürzester Zeit sowohl von vorne als auch von hinten aktivieren und auch wieder abschalten. Die stufenlose Regelung ermöglicht es, die Leistung des Antriebs situationsabhängig einzustellen.

In geringer Höhe steigt man zunächst mit erhöhter Drehzahl und solidem Steigen in Richtung des nächsten Aufwinds. In sicherer Höhe reduziert man die Leistung und fliegt mit etwa 8 kW weiter. Sobald man neues Steigen gefunden hat, lässt sich der Antrieb innerhalb weniger Sekunden deaktivieren. So kann man die Energie am effizientesten nutzen.

In der Regel kommt man nach Hause oder erreicht zumindest einen Flugplatz. Außenlandungen gehören der Vergangenheit an.

Keep it Simple

Das einfache wie auch geniale Funktionsprinzip, welches schon seit vielen Jahren im Modellflug angewendet wird, wurde von LZ Design erfolgreich auf Segelflugzeuge übertragen. Die intuitive Bedienung, einfaches Handling und niedriger Wartungsaufwand machen dieses System zur ersten Wahl für Hilfsantriebe.  

Mehr erfahren

Zum Aktivieren des Antriebs im Flug reicht es schon den Hauptschalter umzulegen und den Drehzahlregler am Steuergerät zu drehen. Nahezu ohne Zeitverzögerung läuft der maximal 30kW starke Elektromotor an und liefert sofort bei Bedarf bis zu 1,5m/s Steigen. Die Propellerblätter werden dabei durch die Fliehkraft aufgefaltet.

Zum Abstellen des Triebwerks genügt es den Drehzahlregler zurück zu drehen. Der Antrieb regelt die Drehzahl nach unten und stellt die Propellerblätter automatisch wieder waagerecht. Der Fahrtwind legt den Propeller zuverlässig an den Rumpf an. Mit Ausschalten des Hauptschalters ist der Vorgang abgeschlossen.

DG-Finish

neo-Leistung erleben

Der neue Außenflügel mit neo-Winglet wurde von der Trennstelle ab mit neuen Profilen versehen. Er gibt in der Thermik mehr Feedback und verbessert Handling und Steigen. Das neue Design passt hervorragend zur Silhouette der DG-1001 und unterstreicht die sportliche Optik.

Flexibel wie kein anderer

Die DG1001E neo wurde mit dem Fokus auf den Streckensegelflug entwickelt. Daher gehören die 20m neo Außenflügel zur Serie. Aber auch im Kunstflug und in der Schulung lässt sich das Flugzeug einsetzen.

Mehr erfahren

Um vor allem im Verein die Vielseitigkeit der DG1001 zu erhalten, kann das Flugzeug mit 17.2m Enden auch weiterhin im Kunstflug eingesetzt werden. Hierfür müssen lediglich die FES Batterien entfernt werden um die Gewichtslimits der Struktur einzuhalten.

 

Schulung mit FES?

Viele Vereine kämpfen mit rückläufigen Schüler- und Mitgliederzahlen. Um dieser Entwicklung entgegen zu wirken sind schnelle Lernerfolge wichtig. Je schneller der Flugschüler voran kommt desto höher die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass er die Ausbildung beendet und dem Verein erhalten bleibt. Genau an diesem Punkt setzt die DG1001E neo an.

Mehr erfahren

Nicht jeder Flugplatz verfügt über gute thermische Verhältnisse. Oftmals sind viele Starts notwendig um die wichtigen Grundlagen vor allem zu Beginn der Ausbildung zu vermitteln.

Mit der DG1001E neo hat man die Möglichkeit, aus kurzen Platzrundenflügen ausgedehnte Schulstarts zu machen und das praktische Wissen besser zu vermitteln. Nutzt man bei jedem Start nur für kurze Zeit das FES, erreicht man einfacher die Thermik und kann effektiv die Übungen trainieren. Selbst wenn an einem schwachen Tag keine Thermik vorhanden ist, kann man die Höhe halten und wichtige Übungen durchführen.

Die Folge ist ein erhöhter Lernerfolg, steigender Spaß an der Ausbildung und eine Verkürzung der Ausbildungsdauer.

Fliegen kennt keine Grenzen!

Die DG1001E neo kann in Ihrer Variante mit elektrischem Einziehfahrwerk mit einem Handicap System ausgestattet werden. Der sonst für das manuelle Einziehfahrwerk verwendete Hebel an der linken Bordwand wird für die Seitenruderbetätigung genutzt und ermöglicht es auch Menschen mit Handicap die Schönheit unseres Sports zu genießen. Der Hebel stört Piloten ohne Handicap nicht weiter und kann so im Cockpit verbleiben. Ein Ausbau ist nicht erforderlich was den Einsatz im Verein bei wechselnden Piloten vereinfacht.

Hinweis: Viele Organisationen und Länder unterstützen den Handicap Sport!

DG-Finish
\

neo Winglets

Die neo-Winglets verbessern vor allem das Steigen und Handling bei hohen Flächenbelastungen. Auch im dynamischen Vorflug spielen sie ihre Vorteile aus.

\

Fahrwerk

Das große Hauptfahrwerk mit 5" Hauptrad verbessert den Anstellwinkel beim Anrollen und erhöht den Komfort. Im Crash-Fall nimmt es viel Energie auf um den Piloten zu schützen

\

Batteriekasten

Die beiden FES Antriebsbatterien sind im Heck des Rumpfes untergebracht.

Die Abdeckung mit Schnappsystem ermöglicht das Einsetzen der Batterien ohne Werkzeug.

\

Cockpit

Das DG typische Cockpit hüllt den Piloten in sportliches Ambiente.
Die bequeme Sitzposition in beiden Cockpits erlaubt lange Flüge ohne Ermüdung.

Slider